Recipe of the Week – Rhubarb Custard Bars

The recipe this week is actually a dessert that will occasionally make it to family reunions on my dad’s side of the family. Truthfully, I’m not sure which one of my dad’s cousins I got this from, but I absolutely love this dessert.

20150901_074006Rhubarb Custard Bars are best completely chilled. Don’t get me wrong. There is not a single time I would turn down this tasty treat. When chilled, however, the bar will hold it’s form much better. It’s easier to serve and (most importantly for grazers like me) it’s more convenient to pick up and eat without a plate or fork. 🙂

I mean really. Who doesn’t love a crust that is made strictly from flour, sugar, and butter? And chilled? The whipping cream helps to cut the tartness of the rhubarb and then the topping is where the sweet comes in. Who am I kidding? The whole dessert is sweet! It is definitely one of those desserts that keeps the family coming back for more!

rhubarb custard bars


Leave a Reply

