Recipe of the Week – Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

First off, anyone who knows me, knows I love sugar. Dessert is one of my favorite meals. While we do not do a lot of “desserts”, Mark is actually a pretty decent baker if I do say so myself. He does many of our cakes for our personal parties and my favorite, that I doubt he will share is secret on, is his peanut butter frosting.

But I digress…

Today’s recipe is his cinnamon cream cheese frosting. I’m a sucker for a good cream cheese frosting. In fact, I’d take that over a buttercream frosting any day, or worse, that fake frosting that you get in some “big box” stores.Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

This frosting is smooth, creamy, and above all delicious! I love frosting when it stays smooth and not crunchy, even when the cake isn’t quite fresh. This frosting can also go quite well on cinnamon rolls, brownies, cupcakes…but really, what CAN’T you put frosting on??

20150818_075534I love how it looks too. Cream cheese frosting is light, fluffy, and white. Really white. In fact, it looks pretty plain and boring. But by adding the cinnamon to it, you have added intriguing flecks of color to your frosting. Not enough to change the coloring, but enough to draw you towards trying it just to see what flavor the flecks provide. It’s unfortunate that pictures just can’t do the real thing justice when it comes to showing the subtle flecks of cinnamon. Guess you will just have to try it to see what I mean.

Leave a Reply

